The Minis – Fall ’23

For once, the books that I read from September through November were perfectly in-line with Fall and Spooky season, and I didn’t even realize that until I began working on this installment. Anyone else love it when that happens? I know I do.

I recommend getting cozy because I present to you, the 2023 fall edition of The Minis: Book reviews on a smaller scale, but still filled with lots of love.


My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

Publisher: Anchor Books

Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Crime

Page Count: 226

Korede is bitter. How could she not be? Her sister, Ayoola, is many things: the favorite child, the beautiful one, possibly sociopathic. And now Ayoola’s third boyfriend in a row is dead.

While I don’t normally grab thrillers to read, for years I’ve spent my Friday nights with my mom watching Dateline or 48 Hours. Some people prefer The Bachelor/Bachelorette. We prefer true crime.

But what started as required reading for my Creating Suspense workshop class, quickly turned into something that I haven’t done in years. While away in Boston, I was able to start and finish reading My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite in only a couple of hours.

My Sister, the Serial Killer was gripping, enticing, and very fast-paced – some chapters were as short as one page – and I was captivated. I was rooting for Korede the entire time… but the ending however had such a twist that it gave me some extremely mixed feelings. Even now I’m still not sure how I feel about it, but at the same time I love how thrilling it was to read that I want everyone else to read it so we can all sit down and discuss it. If you’re looking for a Mystery/Thriller that will keep you on your toes, then this is the one for you.

My Roommate is a Vampire by Jenna Levine

Publisher: Berkley

Genre: Romance, Paranormal Romance, Vampires

Page Count: 341

Cassie’s sexy new roommate is a vampire. And he has a proposition for her.

Reading My Roommate is a Vampire by Jenna Levine felt like I had discovered something that I didn’t realize I’d been missing all these years. While I truly do love an angsty vampire, there was something wonderful about having a vampire who in addition to being devilishly handsome, is a giant cinnamon roll.

One of four Paranormal Romance books that I selected to read for my Romance: A Novel Approach class, My Roommate is a Vampire was the definition of saying that I’ll read just one more chapter before bed, and only stopping because I couldn’t keep my eyes open anymore. I adored the moments when Cassie explained modern society – including the dos and don’ts of Instagram etiquette to Frederick, and it was impossible to not swoon over his Regency charm. But even the sweetest of vampires has a few secrets.

My Roommate is a Vampire is perfect for readers looking to take a bite of something that’s both sweet, cheesy in the best ways, and even a little dangerous.

A Witch’s Guide to Fake Dating a Demon by Sarah Hawley

Publisher: Berkley

Genre: Romance, Paranormal Romance, Contemporary

Page Count: 367

Book 1 in the Glimmer Falls series

Mariel Spark knows not to trust a demon, especially one that wants her soul, but what’s a witch to do when he won’t leave her side—and she kind of doesn’t want him to?

Fake Dating? Check. Forced Proximity? Check. The big, strong, terrifying, soul bargaining demon gets scared when he starts to grow feelings for the first time? Triple check!

A Witch’s Guide to Fake Dating a Demon by Sarah Hawley takes the spooky paranormal creatures that we all know and love and sheds a modern day light on them. Ever wondered what it would be like to meet a pixie Instagram Influencer? Been curious to see a Plant Emporium run by a werewolf? Or heard about a witch who prefers to not use her magic when baking and when she does, accidentally summons a hot demon to perform a soul bargain? All those answers can be found when you walk into the world of Glimmer Falls, and more.

Full of humor, friends who would do anything for you, steamy romance, and even breaking the cycle of generational trauma, A Witch’s Guide to Fake Dating a Demon brings a fun modern twist to a genre that we all know and love.

Keep exploring this world with A Demon’s Guide to Wooing a Witch, the second book in the Glimmer Falls series!

Wolf Gone Wild by Juliette Cross

Publisher: Union Square & CO

Genre: Romance, Paranormal Romance, Fantasy

Page Count: 416

Book 1 in the Stay a Spell series

What’s the worst thing that can happen to a werewolf? What Evie doesn’t know is that Mateo’s wolf  has a mind of his own. And now that she’s in his sights, he wants only one thing. Her.

Not only is New Orleans full of adventure and romance, but it’s the home to Vampires, Witches, Grim Reapers and even Werewolves. And one by one, they all seem to find themselves drawn to the powerful Savoie sisters.

In Wolf Gone Wild by Juliette Cross, the worst thing that can happen to a werewolf is not death, but the inability to shift into his wolf for not one, not two, but three months. Is that such a horrible thing though when in an attempt to rid himself of this curse with Evie Savoie’s help, romance begins to bloom? Despite her coven’s rule on no werewolves, the longer Evie and Mateo spend together, the harder it becomes to keep those ever growing feelings separated.

With puns and pop culture references for comic book and Webtoons fans galore, Wolf Gone Wild is a slow burn witch and werewolf romance that is humorous, sexy, and addictive. The world only gets bigger in Don’t Hex and Drive, the second book in Juliette Cross’s Stay a Spell series.

A Soul to Keep by Opal Reyne

Publisher: Opal Reyne

Genre: Romance, Monster Romance, Paranormal

Page Count: 534

Duskwalker Brides Book 1

All Reia ever wanted was freedom. All Orpheus ever wanted was a companion. But will Orpheus be able to convince Reia to stay before she’s lost to him forever?

While searching for my fourth and final book to read for my Romance class, I stumbled upon A Soul to Keep by Opal Reyne while going down the rabbit hole of paranormal romance recommendations. To be honest, I’m not sure where I first found it – either Amazon or on Goodreads – but I’m thankful either way because this book has me wrapped up in its clutches.

Not for the faint of heart, over the course of 534 beautiful pages, Reia and Orpheus learn to trust each other – in addition to trusting themselves – and discover that it is possible to overcome the trauma they’ve been through in this slow-burn monster romance.

Tender, sweet, and extremely smutty, A Soul to Keep is perfect for  experienced Monster Romance fans and for those looking to dip their toes into the sub-genre for the first time. Keep exploring Opal Reyne’s world with A Soul to Heal, the second book in the Duskwalker Brides series.


Published by Lindsay Stenico

A writer who is continuously dreaming, and drinking more coffee than she probably should be.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started